Black Moshannon Under Amazing Skies

We are fortunate in central Pennsylvania. We have many beautiful wild woods and waters to explore within a short distance. I took the day off and my husband and I packed up some ham and cheese sandwiches and the smallest chef salad in the world, and made our way to Black Moshannon State Park.

We made three stops. At the first stop, well above Black Moshannon, my husband jogged and I hiked. Our second stop was at a picnic area by the lake, where we snarfed down our lunch, while admiring a rather large beaver lodge we had not seen there before.

This photo is from our third stop. We drove down the West Side Road and hiked the Moss-Hanne and Indian Trails, and found yet another new beaver lodge, a bit smaller than the first one we saw. Then we walked along the boardwalk and Bog Trail, which features great views of the lake.

Above is one of the photos I took of the changeable skies. It was a mix of partly cloudy and partly sunny, and the cloud show was amazing. I always like to be near water when the sky is doing that, as the water reflections double the fun of a cool sky show.

The soundtrack song is a King Crimson tune from 1982: Sheltering Sky. (And yes, guitarist Fripp - that's his solo at the end of the song - is a genius.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.