Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Eeek!

Picture it... I'm tucked into my hide this afternoon, enjoying a near-perfect spring day.  Watching goldfinches, blackbirds and cardinals coming and going.  So relaxing. Until a noise that defies description sounded from right outside the hide (not the side I was looking out of).  After scraping myself off the top of the hide, I fearfully peaked out...to see a big tom turkey running away at top speed.  Eventually he came back and I got this shot.  If you've never heard a male turkey, click HERE (and you may want to turn the volume DOWN).  

I took advantage of the lovely weather and took a 2 mile walk on one of the few trails that is still open.  Encountered only 4 other people during the entire time I was out.  None wearing masks, but all observing a distance of at least 10 feet.  Stopped and chatted for a while with the second two who weren't familiar with the trail.  I gave them directions to the eagle's nest and told them some things to look for.  

As usual, I watched the two governors.  They both have such different styles, but I like them very much.  If I have to be living in the US epicenter of the Covid 19 virus, I don't feel that I could be in better hands.  All numbers are looking like they are slowly moving in the right direction.  But, as both govs say, now is not the time to get lazy.  

I hope all of you are staying safe, not going too crazy with lockdowns,  and taking time to appreciate things every day.

Baked bread again today - this time with roasted garlic.  It smells really good and I can't wait to slice into it.

Be well, be safe, be kind...

xo
Debbi

Covid19 stats
Positive cases in NJ as of 1 PM today - 113,856
Deaths in NJ -  6,442
Positive cases in Sussex County - 882 - deaths 97

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.