Wednesday- it must be Calton Hill Day

As soon as I walked out this morning into a windless, bright morning, I regretted not having been out on my bicycle, but lethargy had yet again overtaken me when I surfaced before sunrise and I had stayed under the duvet too long to beat the traffic.

With the choice of walks becoming slightly repetitive after 5 weeks of lockdown, the one place nearby that has been neglected is Calton Hill at the east end of Princes Street from where there is a marvellous view of Edinburgh City Centre.
That was the goal and forth I strode with just a little out of breathlessness as I climbed up to Edinburgh’s Folly and Nelson’s Monument. Any other time I been up top I have had to fight for space with the tourists, but today it was just me and couple with their dog. There are very few advantages of lockdown for me on the personal level, but Edinburgh reset to original settings is one I can’t get enough of.

I came back in time for my home based coffee via deserted Princes Street Gardens when the only things that moved were a grass cutting tractor and small mobile robot grass cutter. It was so peaceful and hard to believe i was walking in the centre of a city.

It’s all very well to rely on face to face internet communication but more often than not there is a glitch and so it proved with a phone call this lunchtime. Now I have to Google to see why I couldn’t get Face Time to work on my iPad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.