An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Let them eat cake...

Day Thrufty-squinty of Lockdown and the time has come for.....Victoria sponge! 

Yes, it's reached the stage of lockdown where David (wearing a t-shirt that spoke the truth about him - see extra) and I looked at each other and said "Victoria Sponge."

I was a bit late in the day in making it as Alan had FaceTime calls with his pal Andrew and his support worker Christine who he's not seen either of them since Lockdown began.  

David facilitated the call with Andrew.  He's doing well but missing his visits to us.  Tonight he and Alan should have been off to Glasgow to see McFly at the Hydro, so they were both feeling a little disappointed, but some face to face time cheered them up.

Alan was over the moon to "see" Christine.  They are missing each other a lot.  It was really lovely to catch up with her.

Then it was time for cake making.  I went with the Mary Berry all in one method, which I've had success with before.  Normally I use my stand mixer but this time I used my hand mixer and I would say the texture is more rustic.  That's ok though.

The problem arose with the butter icing and the sifted icing sugar topping.  

Given that the house was full of lovely cake smells from late afternoon, we were very much looking forward to a cuppa and a slice of sponge.  The time finally came to enjoy....the knife sliced through the cake beautifully, we admired our wedges with the raspberry jam oozing out and the soft buttercream sitting atop.  

Unfortunately the taste experience wasn't quite what we had hoped for...the sponge itself tastes fine (slightly overbaked) but the butter cream and icing sugar top seemed a little odd.  Another taste.  Hmmm....what could it be?  Another taste...

Ah!  Spice!  It would seem the icing sugar has picked up a flavour from the spices on the shelf above.  Normally I decant my baking goods into airtight containers but for some reason, hadn't done with the icing sugar.  Oops.  

David says he enjoyed it.  I won't be eating any more.  Will have another go maybe next week, but using my stand mixer again and a new packet of icing sugar!  

What a load of cak(e)!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.