Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Flower Friday: Petunias

It's been a busy day with an early start! Early because we were expecting two ladies to join us for the communion service this morning, so a little tidying up/cleaning had to be done.

We were all ready by 11, but only one person came. The other had to work, which I guess these days, is good. We had a quick bite to eat before joining a Salvation Army Zoom meeting at 1. That went well.

There was another Zoom meeting scheduled for 4:30, this time with our "Old Friends" group. I wanted to get the camera and lighting right for that, so a little time was spent trying out a few things. I thought I'd cracked it but was not pleased with the camera angle I chose in the end. Anyway, the meeting itself was fine. We all got to share what we've been doing over the last few weeks. Zoom gave us an unlimited meeting which was cool.

That over, we had a few minutes before heading out to Zabeel Park to walk around the perimeter. I wish I'd chosen a slightly later time as there were a few people already there, and it was way too hot. Our friends joined us and it was really great to see them after ages.

Sadly, with all the restrictions, there was very limited time to chat and catch up. We ended up in a Lebanese restaurant not too far away, known to them and whilst we were treated to a shawarma each and orange juice, we had to part company and eat our meals in our own homes. Argh!

My blip is of the flowers along the way. They love planting flowers along the road here - proven in the extra. Also, the flame tree flowers are coming out now, so Dubai is going to be a splash of red. I can't wait! :D

May already!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.