Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A birthday in the time of Covid 19

Margret (next door) is 83 today. She doesn't look it does she?

Margaret (across the road) put up the Happy Birthday bunting early this morning. When friends called at Margret's with cards and presents - maintaining a safe distance of course - they told her about her front garden. She had been busy with phone calls from friends and family in Germany.

I was "commissioned" to take a lock down birthday portrait.

To say she was having a good day is a gross understatement. 

I think that we are all happy to have something to be happy about at the moment.

Otherwise, I unblocked a sink, although I think it will need more doing to make it really free. I did a few bits of housework and started to empty out old files from my filing cabinet. This enveloped me in many memories from a long time ago. I also made soup.

I finally walked at 3pm and went by the river North Tyne. It is a continual panoply of delights as the leaves are bursting forth and changes occur. The garlic is still reluctant to open, as is the hawthorn blossom. It will be all the more welcome when it does come.

We had a lovely time with out photo club weekly challenge. It was a Wild Card week and the images were extremely diverse. Great fun to see what everyone came up with. (I did an image of three of the dandelion seeds I've been experimenting with. I was pleased with it.)

Life in the Time of Covid 19
I missed the news conference so I have just heard the headlines. I don't think missing the conference is a bad thing because they do go on for a long time and say very little. I'm glad it is not my job, but I also wish I was back at work and helping.

As I walk, I either count my steps or silently sing songs to help me along. I find that songs pop into my head. Today it was Golden Slumbers and You're a pink toothbrush. Don't try to analyse it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.