Adam's Images

By ajt

Boat still by the tower

After breakfast I calculated my tax for calendar year 2019. I have the joy of filing returns in the UK under PAYE and in France under whatever the new system is called that is like PAYE. Last year I partially paid tax and National Insurance on one salary in two countries, which can as you imagine left me quite a bit out of pocket. So basically HMRC have given me a rebate but the French system is missing a chunk, so I'll end up paying the French taxman all the rebate I got from the British one and a bit more...! For this year life will be simpler though I'll still have file a claim in the UK to get back some tax on certain residual savings....

For our up to one hour and up to 1 km walk today, we went exactly where we went last week and the week before. I took quite a few pictures today, but it was quite hazy again, and I'm sure it would be better going for sunset... Relative to the previous two weeks, everything was starting to get a lot busier, many of the car parks had cars in them, rather than being empty, but they were full as you'd normally expect at this time of year. I think the rules are breaking down here...

To compare my new home with my old home the figures are quite striking. 2 861 cases in Hampshire compared with 3 730 in the whole of Brittany, which has nearly three times the population.... We're "vert" so I expect to we'll get let out more than Paris for example, and sooner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.