As has become the custom, Sunday morning comprises a longer walk. This time, we headed around the Restalrig railway path, ending up coming back across the Links and up the Water of Leith. Setting off at just after 7am, we got the best of the weather, and it was pretty sunny as we came back up the Water of Leith.

I spied a few flowers to photograph...keeping me busy.

Back here, I spent most of the afternoon reading - finishing Ali Smith, Autumn, and starting Philippe Sands' new book The Ratline. After dinner, we tried to watch Frankenstein from the National Theatre, but didn't get on with it, so watched an oldish documentary about Margaret Rutherford that was on youtube.

I've reorganised my photographs for the lockdown into three albums...

March
April
May

There's an awful lot of flowers and quite a bit of repetition. But it will be useful for me in the future.

I do hope May will be the last month of 'lockdown proper', but I suspect that we'll not be returning to anything like the life we were living before March any time soon. It's funny how our lives are currently hyper local, but of course utterly global (in connections made and news consumed). Yesterday, we zoomed with Australia. Today, it was the turn of Japan. And it was just lovely to speak with, and see, S and H, whom we literally haven't seen for nearly 15 years. So that was today in 'beneficial byproducts of the pandemic'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.