Jobs and hobbies

All the same to me. After a lie in, then a bit of watering and moving plants about, we had coffee then went to the allotment. (Just Jon and I) There he cut the grass, made a temporary fix to the fencing, plus dug over the corner of a bed I had struggled with on Thursday. Meanwhile, I picked dandelion clocks as best I could, to stop them spreading their seeds - there were hundreds. I planted my main crop potatoes. I’d been leaving them, but now feel impatient for things to be planted. They had chitted well, so I’m sure will be fine. I also planted some mange tout plants that have grown very straggly, but I didn’t have room in the greenhouse for. They may be less safe, especially if we get another frost. I will go back tomorrow to see if I can put my mini greenhouse over them for a while. Speaking of the cloche, I took it off my strawberries and they are all full of flowers. So it did the job, and now I need them to be pollinated. I then raked over the bed where my sweet corn will go, and bashed some of the big hard lumps of soil down. There is weeding to do, but for another day. It was very hot, and we went home at 1.30 for a late lunch and to sit in the garden for a while.

Mollie and Henry did some baking. Millionaire’s shortbread. Quite labour intensive, but delicious. So worth the time. Especially as Mollie also made the lasagne for dinner, which should have been my job. It meant I could carry on with the shirt I started to make last week. Having cut all the pieces of material out, I began to put things together. I did the pocket on the front of the shirt first, which worked out ok, I think. But I went wrong with the yoke and had to unpick it. I didn’t even feel too annoyed by it, as it has been a learning process. The book doesn’t have detailed instructions like a proper pattern does, so I’ve been looking things up in another book. I’m pleased with the colours, but, like the people on the sewing bee, I’ve discovered the patterned fabric (mums old trousers) has a stretch to it, and it is easy to get it puckering when sewing, if you stretch it. I’m trying not to! I’ve just finished attaching the yoke, & facing to the back, and the two front panels to the shoulders. More might not be until Thursday when I’m off. I think I’ll be too tired on my work days, especially as this is a 3 day week for me - and I know there is a lot to fit in.

A hot bath is next, then a bit of my book before bed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.