Tadpoles

Our pond is one year old this weekend. I have a 5 year diary, (I’m on year3) and noticed this time last year was when it was being dug. So we are really pleased at its success. Here are my little toad tadpoles, which got me quite excited earlier in the week when I first discovered them. Now I am hoping lots make it to toadlet status, or whatever baby toads are called. I know there are a lot of predators out there - and these are all wriggling at the edge of the pond, asking for trouble I think. But, I guess if they were hidden in the weed, a dragonfly larvae would get them. Hopeful we get some that make it through the next few weeks as they grow their legs.

I was actually up first, at not long after 7, so did last night’s washing up, and cleaned the kitchen before taking a cup of tea up to Jon. He does it every other day, so it’s my turn on a Saturday. Once up, we had a nice conservatory breakfast in the sun. So glad it’s back! Then I cut out the last pieces of my pattern, which I will start to pin together at some point this week.

We have all spent a lot of our day next-door doing jobs. Mollie was weeding, which I helped a little with, and Jon and Henry replaced the outdoor tap and also the washing machine hose. Both our lawns were cut and are now looking tidy. Mollie hopes for more nice weather this week, so that she can continue the mammoth weeding challenge.

We had a nice coffee break in the garden mid morning, and after lunch I had an hour catching up with girlfriends on a WhatsApp video chat. Then helped Mollie out a bit, identifying what she could pull up, and what should be left alone in mums garden.

At 4, Mollie and I drove in to Cromer to see if any fish and chip shops were open. Just one. There were quite a lot of people all sensibly distancing themselves outside. I ordered them found myself a spot, safely away from everyone else. It was ready in 15 minutes. Home by 5.30 and now deliberating what game to play!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.