Week 6 - Day 4 - an office quiz

It is my first ‘full’ 4 day week for a while. The 3 day weeks have been catching up with me, work wise. I’m not feeling very in control, hence not finishing until gone 5 today. That is unheard of for a Friday in the office, but at home it is so much harder to stop working. I find myself thinking ‘I’ll just do this, just finish that...’ and another hour has flown.

Anyway, today had a really good lift for the whole office, when we joined together for an office quiz at the end of the day, jointly organised by myself and the Pensions Manager. Two rounds of Norfolk related questions, which I think went down pretty well. Microsoft ‘Teams’ is proving a real life saver in bringing us all together, when we are, in fact, so far apart. I enjoyed it, a morale booster and think it did exactly what we had intended. We got lots of positive feedback, and think people genuinely enjoyed the last hour of the week. We will do it all again in 2 weeks.

After work I had an hour FaceTime chat with my lovely friend Claire, who I haven’t seen for ages. I took her on a virtual tour of all the alterations Jon has made to our house. Hopefully she will visit when we are free to roam again! I do love this face to face chatting. So much better than just the phone. Yet when we were teenagers, the idea of such technology was only fantasy, the like only found in Star Trek! It is making the lockdown (which I believe must continue in order for us to come out of this in a stronger place to fight it) all the more bearable.

After another lovely Mollie special - home made Friday night pizza, Jon and I went for a long walk through the village, taking a footpath across fields we hadn’t been across before. We got muddy, but enjoyed it. My favourite bit is scouring the fields for unusual stones....Jon just enjoys the walk, but not the waiting for me to catch up. It nearly got rid of my headache, which I’ve had all week.

We missed gardeners world, but only I like it, so can catch up later. I might do a bit more knitting. Tiny things. Currently the small dog in leg warmers and jumper has taken Mollie and I almost the whole of the lockdown so far. Funny, ‘cos last night I dreamt I knitted two cardigans in one evening!!! Lol. I couldn’t knit two cardigans in a year! I do have funny dreams.

So glad for the weekend again. They keep coming round, don’t they? My allotment beckons....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.