Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

White Caps

There was no wind in the forecast!  It wasn't windy at all when we got up this morning but it started to blow after lunch and never let up.  I drove to a local lake to look for birds, but the water was so choppy there were none to be seen. It's interesting that the water looks so green.  When it's still, it looks blue.  The mountains peaks in the background  (all over 13,000 ft) are part of the Front Range and many are within Rocky Mountain National Park.  Starting from the left, the first peak that's only half in the image is Copeland Mountain, next is Isolation Peak, Tanima Peak, Mount Alice, Mount Meeker, Longs Peak (the tallest at 14,255 ft) and Mount Lady Washington.  I never tire of this view!

I didn't stay out long as it was so windy that I had a hard time holding the camera still.  As I was leaving I saw a man carrying a sail board down to the water.  So, of course, I decided to stay a while and take about 50 photos.  It was such fun watching him speed around the lake. I liked the shot in the extras best.  It would have been my main blip if his face was in focus. ;-)  

I am grateful that we decided to take turns making dinner.  It was PD's turn tonight. :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.