SOUVENIR

Another quiet day at home.  Disturbed nights sleep so I felt rather weary today.  I did a load of washing ( which I have just remembered is still in the washing machine ) and a few other household chores. Also watched a lot of TV.  Weather has been sunny but a bit chilly.

At 6pm as usual I joined in with my Slimming Group Zoom meeting.  8 of us " turned up " today.  I lost 1½ pounds.  I'm pleased to have lost weight two weeks in a row.  Hoping for 3rd loss next Tuesday,

The Tiny Tuesday challenge has no theme so I fished around in another drawer and found this keyring.  My blip shows both sides of it. . A souvenir bought in Spain.. We weren't there in 1982 but in 1983;  However the shops still had lots of souvenirs from the 1982 World Cup which was held in Spain.  I remember buying a hand towel  (which I still use regularly and I blipped HERE ), a toy ( which I blipped HERE), some coasters and this keyring.

The 1982 FIFA World Cup was the 12th FIFA World Cup, played in Spain between 13 June and 11 July 1982. The tournament was won by Italy, who defeated West Germany 3–1 in the final match,

The wording on the keyring - Somos Campeones means " We Are The Champions".  However Spain only lasted until the second round and didn't progress to the knockout stage. The England team, under the new Group rulings, also went out at the same stage  - without losing a game!

The official mascot of this World Cup was Naranjito, an anthropomorphised orange, a typical fruit in Spain, wearing the kit of the host's national team. Its name comes from naranja, the Spanish word for orange,

Thanks to wrperry for hosting Tiny Tuesday.

I was tempted to use " We Are The Champions" by Queen as my musical link but changed my mind and chose THIS TIME - a catchy tune sung by the England Squad.

 Steps today - 4,592

LOCKDOWN TOP 10 entry - IF THE WORLD WAS ENDING - JP Saxe ft. Julia Michaels

CORONA CLASSIC HUNGARIAN DANCE NUMBER 5  - By Johannes Brahms

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.