In Which Dexter Misses His Dad

My husband left on Monday morning to go backpacking. The weather was to be grand for Monday into Tuesday morning. Most times, I am able to go along. But work has been very busy, as we gear up for the start of summer semester, and I had a work meeting on Tuesday. So I had to sit this one out. Dexter and I were left to our own devices.

This sort of thing happens only a few times a year, and Dexter does not like it one bit. The cat in some ways resembles a border collie. He counts noses, and he's NOT HAPPY when one of those noses is missing.

Where is his father when it's time for the treats to be thrown after supper? Where is the nice, big lap that he likes to sit on? Who will cover the cat with his favorite blanket at napping time, while whispering sweet nothings to him? Where is his dad at bedtime, for another round of treats?

So I handled all of the "husband" tasks for Monday evening as best I could. And when Tuesday morning rolled around, Dexter went to a sun spot on the living room floor that he likes to bask in. Except that he did NOT lie on the nice soft blankie I put out for him. Instead, he lay BESIDE the blanket with his head on my husband's shoes. Look at the little smile on his face!

Of course, we were all very glad when "the dad" returned on Tuesday late in the afternoon. He received a hero's welcome, and we celebrated with a fine lasagna that felt like it weighed in at about 10 pounds, most of that being cheese!

In other news of note for this day, I had gotten the idea in my head that I wanted a toasted cheese sandwich stuffed with mac and cheese and fried to crispy perfection in bacon grease, while my husband was away. And so I tried that for lunch on my own, and it turned out quite nicely, indeed. You may see a gooey, cheesy photo in the extras.

Here is a song for that tabbycat in the photo above, who sorely misses his father: John Waite, with Missing You.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.