pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

What's in store?

Hearing that B&Q was to re-open its doors, I ordered some storage units for the children’s room which I had been wanting to do back in March. Remember March?! Crazy times.

It was a click and collect thing, but I also needed to go in store to collect the baskets, drawers and doors for the unit too. First time I’ve been into B&Q and been able to buy everything I needed in one hit!

It was also the busiest I have ever seen the store. They had taken steps with regards to the social distancing aspect, plenty of signage up EVERYWHERE, screens at checkout and the now pre-requisite tape on the floor marking the two-metre gap. In short, they had done everything that could reasonably be expected to keep customers at a safe distance. Fair play B&Q.

It is weird that I could go and meet my mum in B&Q, stand two metres apart from her, have a good ol’ catch up and ask her to show me the best type of plant for a backyard which gets the sun in the afternoon, but I wouldn’t be able to sit two metres apart from her in her garden and hold the same conversation. (I saw a clip of someone on Lost/Loose/Losing Women saying something similar, so I know I am capturing the zeitgeist).

Strange, innit? I’m pleased I was able to collect and build the units I was after, but this was not an essential purchase. It was a purchase required to stop me having an aneurism from repeatedly telling the children to stop leaving their clothes on the floor. 

I’m not disputing the guidance and rules - I’m really not, I am in no place to judge – but there is a question here over the consistency of messaging and the absolute myriad of issues facing the government as they set out new rules and guidelines to ease us out of lockdown.

There is so much to consider that even thinking about it just makes my head spin, but there are people whose very job this is! Who on earth would want to do that? Surely, it is the ultimate thankless task?

My head is starting to drift again, so I’ll leave the clever thinking to those with the capacity for it and focus instead on my flat packing abilities.

Whilst putting these together, I only swore once!

Stay healthy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.