Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Not an F-16

We had another F-16 fly-over this afternoon to honor health care workers, this time by the National Guard.  Their route for flying over the state was published and they were supposed to be over Longmont at 5:10 PM.  They would be coming from Winter Park, in the mountains almost due west of here.  So a lot of photographers and others parked at our local airport west of town and waited while watching the mountains intently.  At about 5:20 someone said, "They're over there" and pointed east.  We barely had a view of them.  They obviously didn't follow the flight plan because we should have seen them flying toward us from the mountains.  That was the shot I wanted anyway. ;-)

Two good things happened as a result of this, though.  First, I took several shots of air traffic while I was waiting, so I had a blip; and second, as soon as I realized they weren't going to fly over us, I jumped in my car and exited the parking lot before the mass exodus.  I really dislike traffic jams!

I am grateful that this little plane flew over me (extra) and I caught it coming in for a landing! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.