The Star Catch!

Lockdown Day 48

I set my alarm for 6am as I wanted to combine my mornings' exercise with low tide which was at 7.15am - I was tired, but I knew that I'd be annoyed with myself if I didn't get up and get down there.  I drove to Marine Parade and parked at Dukes Mound where the road is closed off to Madeira Drive and walked down to the seafront and along Madeira Drive.  It really is good that this section has been made a traffic free zone, and to be honest I think it would be good if they made it a permanent thing - other than parking, it's only really used as a cut through, and it's really nice to see people using it safely for exercise.  There was one guy with his little girl who had obviously just learnt to ride her bike and it's a great place for her to practice.

It was such a beautiful morning, so calm and peaceful with not too many people around.  I took the usual low tide photos, but I was really please to capture Stephen Seagull who'd caught a starfish - Jonathan Livingston Seagull was keeping a lookout!  I took a series of photos but eventually they were scared off and left the starfish,  I've added a photo to my extras that I took of it through the water, it was quite a big one and I hope it survived although it did have a nasty puncture wound. The gulls are obviously having to find their own food now rather than attacking tourists for chips and ice cream lol!

I walked along the sand in the shallows of the sea and if felt so nice getting my feet wet - luckily my trainers are fabric so they can be washed in the machine.  I walked between the two piers and then on my way back I saw my friend Amanda taking some photos, so we had a socially distanced chat and walked along the beach together for a while. It was so lovely to see her and I think it did us both good!

On my way home I stopped off at the Butcher's and also collected a scarf from Elif's that I've bought mum for her birthday - I didn't see Elif, she just left the bag outside her house for me.  I was home about 9.30am, had breakfast, mowed the grass and then relaxed in the hot tub while Alan worked on Bertie. The rest of the day was spent relaxing in the garden.

I read an article in the local newspaper that because of the nice weather, Police had set up a road block at the end of the A23 and were fining anyone who was attempting to come into Brighton that shouldn't be.  Apparently one car had driven all the way from Milton Keynes!!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.