KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Happy Mother's Day!

My nephew scheduled a Zoom Mother's Day family get together for my birth family this morning at 10:00 my time. It was 1:00 in Pennsylvania and Delaware where most of the family live, and noon in Louisiana where my sister lives. I found my birthmother about 20-ish years ago, followed by meeting two sisters - at the time I thought they were half-sisters. About three years ago, Ancestry informed me that my birthmother's husband was actually my father, unbeknownst to anyone, including my birth parents. So all of a sudden I had a complete birth family! Very odd feeling. Be that as it may, my adoptive family is MY family, despite the similarities with my two sisters. Fascinating contrasts between genetics and environment.

At any rate, that's all in saying that we got up early to get our Arboretum walk in before the Zoom call. I had Miranda's Wildflower Week on my mind since I forgot last week!! The clover was in bloom this morning (it wasn't last week) and fortunately it was a warm morning, so the bees were out. I do love clover, I have memories of lying in our back yard and being fascinated by it. I love the markings on the leaves.

I talked to my mom today - her 92nd birthday was this past Wednesday and it's hard for her to talk on the phone. But we manage and very much look forward to the day that we're allowed to visit again.

We have a neighborhood "Wine and Whine" socially distant happy hour at our neighbor's house late this afternoon. He works for Airbnb and they're closing their Portland office. So after 8 years of working on a fixer-upper house (which is now gorgeous) they may have to move to Seattle. 

Be well my dear friends - so delighted to be a part of this incredible community. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.