News

We had an amazing family meeting this morning with the palliative care doctor. He and my sister and dad at the hospital where my dad is, and my sister and my mom at their home, and me and my brother all merged in on my sister's phone. The doctor was so gentle, honest and grounded and talked my dad through his decision to receive hospice services when he returns home, which we hope will be in a couple of days. The doctor suggested 24 hour care for now, given that his wishes are to stay in their cottage at their retirement community and not go into assisted living. So we have a plan, and as sad and difficult as it is, there is also a huge relief knowing that he will get the care and pain relief that he needs.

So onward we go. So grateful to everyone for your very kind support and love and stars and hearts. So many people have been through these experiences and it's a relief to be able to share. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.