The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

All quiet in the cemetery

Most of yesterday was taken up with trying to sort our fridge, yet again, followed by researching new fridges and deciding to buy one. It wasn't what I'd planned to do over the weekend, but what with the broken light bulb, the persistent leaking from the back, and the newly broken shelf, enough was enough. The new fridge will be delivered on Wednesday. That's amazing for lockdown!

This morning, the Petre/Miller family pub quiz via Zoom. The subjects were Disney films, and Kiwi slang. We did very badly. Just as we were ending, my mother rang and wanted me to talk her through getting on to Zoom (again) as she'd been trying for two hours. Oh dear. I think she just panics or feels stuck if she gets a message on screen that she doesn't understand. She got on, and we had more chat, with other family members, for about an hour. Cooked breakfast turned into a late lunch, but it was a good one. We have some form of cooked breakfast once a week these days.

Later, after some exciting tasks such as changing the bedding, I went out for a walk in the cemetery next door. The weather has changed from heatwave conditions to cold and windy, and the cemetery was empty. I chose the lesser walked side, for a change. I don't know this person personally, but I do wonder about the life stories here, particularly at this time.

UPDATE: following DJRose's comments below, about the poor state of this gravestone, the matter has been investigated by DJRose and the War Graves Commision, and the latter has promised to come and remove the lichen and clean up the headstone, once the lockdown on non-essential work is lifted.

Before supper, we watched the DVD of Hotel du Lac, because I'd studied the book on a WEA course and had planned to watch it with other classmates, before Lockdown intervened. I will now pass it on
Instead for people to watch in their own living rooms. Personally, I enjoyed the film: very 1980s, with hilarious clothing, but fine acting, and uplifting Swiss mountain and lakeside scenery. (No holiday in Italy for me this year, alas!). A proper Sunday-afternoon film.

Supper was roasted Bengali-style vegetables again, and rice, and tuna for some. We were too full for pudding, but yesterday I had a bakeathon and made parkin ( because it's nearly Bonfire night, obviously!) and rhubarb crumble, so we have those to look forward to. I also planned
the meals for next week (subject to change) and wrote a few more cards for the locked-in.

Mixed messages on the easing of lockdown from Scotland, England, and Wales. I'd rather be living in one of the devolved nations right now. Public Health must take priority over the economy .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.