The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Not getting it

VE day celebrations were non existent in our street, apart from one string of bunting. I went ou to meet a friend at Waitrose (not for shopping) and people were queueing around the car park to get in.. Stalls were open in town, and some cafes were doing takeaways. J and I walked along Frome Banks nature reserve, but we too could not resist the lure of a few shops, and ice creams from the newsagents. We found a secret park and sat on separate benches, drinking beer, eating cheese, crisps and apples. All we needed was a packet of fags to make us feel like slightly daring teenagers.

I came home, did some of this dreadfully annoying puzzle, made supper, and still wasn't getting the VE day vibe. Switched on the Scottish news (the Nine) and saw an ex-wren being handed her campaign medals, 75 years late, with full military honours. That made me well up a bit. Joanna Lumley sorted that out for her, but I expect the neighbours were involved too.

Then I watched to the end of all my various series on catch up (Blood, series 2 and the fantastic Snow Spider on the BBC. It's aimed at children, and is based on Welsh mythology and magic. I've ordered the trilogy of books by author Jenny Nimmo.. Went to sleep thinking about the Welsh collection of mythology known as the Mabinogion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.