a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Light as anything

Mono Monday: High Key

Its been blowy here today, which made taking an outdoor high key image particularly challenging.  I eventually decided to take a shot of some of the feathers that the pigeons have lost in the last 24 hours northerly gales.  We have a passage running along the southern side of the house, which was out of the main force of the wind and with some additional temporary windbreaks I managed, just to get this shot.  I took 37 shots in all, in all but 2 of them the feather moves out of focus just as I pressed the button to take the picture.  (Fortunately I had a good stock of feathers!).  Up until that moment I had been debating using a spot of superglue to keep the thing in place :-)

That levity aside, its been a disastrous day on the computer hardware front.  The iMac (which is now 3 years old) has suddenly become non-functional.  I've checked the obvious, (fuses, leads etc) but the long and short of it is that when I press the power button nothing happens.  Apple's technical support people tell me that it needs a "service". I think that means it needs a new something or other in layman's terms.

Obviously just at the moment its not very easy to take it into the Apple shop which I would normally be able to do.  Instead I am waiting to hear from the courier company who are (hopefully) coming to take it away for fixing sometime soon-ish.  There would then (normally be a 3-5 business day) turnaround for them to investigate it and get back to me with a diagnosis. Then there would be a further delay while whichever part needs replacing is ordered and delivered, and yes, a further delay for the repair to be made and an eventual courier back to me with the fixed machine.  With the coronavirus lockdown still in place I think that we can assume this is all going to take a bit longer than normal.  I'm trying to be optimistic but I can easily see that process taking a month in the current situation.  

Oh dear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.