a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Somewhere in all that green

Tiny Tuesday: Somewhere in all that green

Another shot of the shield bug - although as you might notice if you look carefully it would seem that two shield bugs are in the process of making more shield bugs ... I suppose it is that time of year.

As I was making a cup of tea this morning, I saw the crow visiting our pond yet again.  It routinely hops around the edge carefully inspecting things as it goes.  We had thought it might be interested in the newts, although they are normally pretty cautious and not that easy for him to get.  But today I realised what it was he was looking for.

Had I mentioned that we haven't seen any damselflies on the pond yet this year, despite the pond normally having a fair crop of the things by now.  Today I realised why not.  The crow visits the pond in the mornings (several times each morning), looking for newly emerged adult damsels drying out.  He then eats them.

I was so surprised by this that I didn't race of to get the camera to take a picture of the crow with damselflies in its beak.  I can't decide whether I would rather try and grab that shot, or protect the damsels in distress.  nature red in tooth and claw...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.