Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

The Last Straw

That's the name of the large globe at this branch of Costa Coffee where I met up with friend Rachel. We had a very good catch up, despite the challenges of chatting with a facemask on! I think at its busiest, there were five people in the entire cafe with three members of staff to serve them. So sad.

Prior to that, I had swung by friend Farzan's place to pick up an office chair that she is lending to G until the end of the school year, and after Costa, I raced across town to IKEA to get some salmon for G and chocolate bars for me. They've got some great discounts on at the moment.

The afternoon passed quickly; I had feedback on my health insurance renewal application. I had to remove an item on the form which required Tip-ex. Tippex! I haven't thought of that for so long, I can't even spell it anymore. Amazingly, G had some and knew exactly where to find it! The scanner worked and I was able to quickly rectify the problem and send off payment, so I hope I don't really have to wait two weeks to be covered again.

And at 5 pm, we had our OaSis meeting. Only two other people again, but a different two from last week. It was great though. And straight after that, we had another Zoom meeting with Rachel to talk about Awana end-of-year arrangements. It's all supposed to end next Thursday with their Awards night, but we might continue for a month more with our T&T's.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.