My orchid has flowered!!

You may not remember (& I can never locate my previous relevant blips because I don't label them sensibly!) but I was beyond excited when I spotted what looked like a new shoot on my orchid, that meant new flowers. I have NEVER been able to keep orchids alive, let alone get them to flower once the first beautiful blooms have faded. So this is an exciting day, and Mollie's window sill, and excellent ability to neglect plants, has meant we now have flowers. So it has been moved temporarily to a shelf in her room, while it flowers, as we are now scared of knocking the buds off!

I did a couple of hours at the allotment this morning. Just Bracken and I. He ate a few tiny bits of rabbit bone, before I could get them from him. The remainder of the carcass I disposed of. I think it may have been killed by a large bird, a buzzard probably as we see them around here. I earthed up potatoes, and planted some salad seeds ( beetroot, radish, spring onion and lettuce) so far I have beetroot popping up in other places, plus lettuce and radish at home in the greenhouse. The spring onions have been less successful. The only ones I've managed to grow so far were sown together in a pot. I've split them up and planted them in a trough now, but only time will tell whether they will come to anything.

Had a long chat with mum and dad on the phone. They are up and down. Then later in the afternoon I had a lovely facetime chat with my oldest friend Denise and her husband. It was lovely to be able to see them. So much better than texts and email. I felt quite lifted afterwards. It was good to hear they are all well and at home.

At last I managed to finish my shirt. The cuffs, well I made it up in the end. I've learnt lots on this project, the main one being it is better to have a proper pattern, as they come with much more detailed instructions. So I'd like to do another top with collar, plackets etc, so that I can get it right....but not yet. If you see me and I'm wearing the top, I welcome compliments on its construction - just don't look too close!! I've added an extra photo. It was Jon's idea to put in a zip instead of buttons, to give me a tiny bit more room. The fit is quite 'fitted' but good. I probably would have preferred it loose, but for self conscious reasons. As it is, I'm proud of the outcome and will be looking to recycle other clothes to make new ones!

Didn't get to repot many plants today, but will do more tomorrow after work.

Now jigsaw then bed! I am loving this part time work....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.