a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Golden

Flower Friday: Marigold

Fridays use to signal the end of the working week, but of course, I've now retired so my week doesn't have that old structure.  Sadly being stuck in lockdown means that its actually quite hard to give it the sort of structure that I would have wanted.  But at least the sun is shining today and the weather is gradually warming again.

Earlier on, I watched the lady blackbird visit the pond for a drink.  The red damselflies are still much in evidence and still busy mating.  One amorous couple, perhaps with the little minds on other things drifted towards the blackbird.  I wondered whether they would get within reach and, if they did, whether she would eat them. Needless to say, they did, and she did.  What a way to go!

In other news, the defunct computer did, finally, get collected today, so maybe by the end of next week someone will be able to tell me what is wrong with it. We shall see, I'm not holding my breath.

Our daughter Jess hasn't lived at home with us for many years, but she received a mail shot today inviting her to invest in acacia trees, which directs you to a web page seeking high net worth/sophisticated investors. As a PhD student, Jess isn't really their target market :-)  They are suggesting that you can expect returns from an ethical investment of over 100% after 4 years.  Needless to say, with currently Stockmarket volatility and interest rates at an all time low, this is incredibly attractive.  If I was gullible I might consider moving all my savings and investing myself.  Needless to say, if you get this flier you should put it in the bin.  If it looks too good to be true folks, then it is too good to be true.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.