The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Walking

My face has been dry and itchy for a couple of weeks. I googled 'skin conditions' and found nothing helpful, so eventually decided to stop taking a new supplement. No change. Googled 'Skin in lockdown'. D'uh! Everything had changed for me. Different diet, hardly any exercise, poor sleep pattern, etc, etc.

So, today I reclaimed exercise. Usually I walk a lot, between jobs and appointments, because I can't drive. Of course I'm not really going anywhere at the moment, and that's been a good rest period, but.... I walked down to the Slad Valley, over the the top of the ridge, to drop off some money at a friend's house. In places where cow parsley grows, it is waist high, because the paths and verges have not been cut for so long. Back to town, and much faffing around. Outside one shop I wanted to enter, there was a large dog lying in the middle of the entrance. I tried to enter on the left side of tht dog, but the 'bouncer' asked me to go to the right. I tried to move, but my backpack got caught in the door, and the door started shutting. I had touch the handle. Oh no! The dog did not budge. The 'bouncer' explained to the woman behind me that there was a one-way system. She barged past me, muttering, 'I can't be bothered with this Coronavirus shit! " I was tempted to reply, but...

Later, after returning from town, I had a series of conversations with a friend, resulting in my buying her a frozen nut roast from the pub. I suggested that we go for a walk when she came to collect it, little realising that she'd be round in half an hour!

It was a sunny evening, and we completed the same circular walk that I had done about a month ago (April 13th). Then, it was the month of dappled shade, of beech trees and bluebells, wild garlic. This time the buttercups in the meadows were the showstoppers. We walked, and talked, and rested a while, and talked some more...

When I got in, I heated up a curry for supper. It tasted wonderful, because I hadn't had to cook it myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.