Lockdown - Day 57

Hair Cut Saturday!

Back in the late 80’s, after finishing our teaching degrees, and after spending the Summer working two jobs seven days a week, my partner and I bought plane tickets and set off for a year, travelling around the world. The biggest and best adventure of my life!

Six months of our time away was spent in Australia where we bought a VW Combi, which was both our transport and our home for our travels around the continent. Despite working our way around Australia, we were permanently broke. The Combi was a money pit, we were sold a dud; it broke down on our first day and later on even needed a new engine. I remember living on Potato Curry for a week, made purely from potatoes, curry powder and water. In Alice Springs bananas were on offer at $1 for as many as you could cram in a bag; we lived on bananas for three days! When I was working in Sydney, we couldn’t afford campsite fees so would park up over night (illegally) in the Botanical Gardens, then before heading to the office in the morning, would drive down to Sydney Opera House to use the facilities!

So a visit to the hairdresser was out of the question. Instead I bought these scissors for $9.95 in Grace Bros in Sydney (I still have the packet!). I remember as if it was yesterday, sitting on the banks of the Murray River in Echuca cutting J’s hair (I didn’t let him touch my hair!), when other people from the campsite came up and asked me if I would cut their hair as well! 

30 years later, thanks to Lockdown, those scissors were put to good use again today. And along with the haircuts, the precious memories came flooding back...

Take care, stay safe and well...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.