WHAT A DAY .........

that must have been if you were a Newcastle United fan.

This afternoon at 3pm I settled down in front of my computer to watch the footie.  Newcastle United were showing a match from the archives on their YouTube Channel.  This afternoons match was from 19th September 1999 and Newcastle were playing Sheffield Wednesday. It was Sir Bobby Robson's first home game in charge of his boyhood club.

The final score was Newcastle United 8 Sheffield Wednesday 0.  Alan Shearer scored  five goals ( including 2 penalties ) and the late, great Gary Speed was also on the scoresheet alongside Aaron Hughes and Kieron Dyer. The footage was poor quality and grainy but I really enjoyed watching.  Great to see Shearer on top form.

This match was way before the time I started going but I remembered that Neil had a shirt the same as the team were wearing that day so I fished it out for my blip shot.  Neil was 15 at the time and a very keen Newcastle fan - as of course he still is.

Musical link WHAT A DAY - by The Saw Doctors

That took up a chunk of the afternoon but I still managed to do some ironing and I also potted up some plants which I had ordered online  which had been delivered a few days ago. 

Around 7.45pm my Tesco online delivery arrived.  ( I grabbed the slot around 3 weeks ago. ) Took ages to unpack, wash and put away the 60 or so items.  I had ordered a few things for my neighbour Lizzie so I took them round to her.

Finally sat down to eat my tea at around 9pm.   Recorded all the Eurovision shows that were on the BBC this evening. Always enjoy Eurovision and as there is no proper contest this year at least I can enjoy some old footage and get my " fix".

Steps today - 5,376

LOCKDOWN TOP 10  -  BETTER OFF ALONE  by Alice DJ

CORONA CLASSIC Andante Festivo - By Jean Sibelius

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.