KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Western Honey Bee

It was a pretty damp day today, although we had a short sun break mid-afternoon. I took advantage of it to go out to the garden. The euphorbias were absolutely loaded with pollinators...I could hear the buzzing as I passed by. Curious (of course), I stopped and stood still for a few minutes. I don't know the names of the pollinators in my garden, although I'm becoming more familiar with them. I saw about six different species on the plant - seemingly both flies and bees. But this one I know is a Western Honey Bee. I think it's the best photo I've gotten of one.

Some bees seem to dislike my presence and they buzz around my head obviously trying to send me away. Others are curious and some completely ignore me, like these honey bees. So I was able to get quite close.

It has started raining again - it will rain all night. The garden today was so beautiful and being a Saturday there was almost no sound except for the birds and buzzing of bees. On weekdays I can hear the highway in the distance and sometimes cars and delivery trucks in the neighborhood. Our county is not yet in Phase I of reopening, so it's still quiet.

Enjoy your weekend dear Blipmates and be safe and be kind. Everyone has a story...it's amazing when you stop to listen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.