A Quiet Day

Thank you all so very much for your support during this difficult time. Your comments and hugs and good thoughts are truly a gift. I'm eternally grateful. I'm looking forward to catching up with you soon!

I spent a quiet day in the garden today - took the day off from visiting mom and family. I still didn't sleep well last night, but it was healing being  in the garden. I had several great calls, one with my younger sister who always puts a good perspective on things, as well as one of my oldest, dearest friends who has lost both of her parents as well as her husband. 

I hadn't spent the entire day in the garden, doing exactly as I want to, for a really long time. It was such a relief. Funny how certain events in one's life can bring put things in perspective. 

I got to observe the shifting sun today, and watched as it hit certain parts of the garden. I saw the birds and insects visiting - in fact I saw a goldfinch come to my little birdbath (which I filled up 4 times today...it's very small and apparently well used), as well as a variety of insects and bees who drank from the bird bath as well. 

These are the first blossoms of Geranium 'Roxanne' - a marvelous backbone of the front perennial border. She'll bloom right through the entire summer. I'm beginning to collect hardy geraniums - they're stunning plants. 

I'm about to go sit outside on this lovely early evening - still 82F/28C - with a glass of wine and a book, and soak in the last bits of this glorious day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.