KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

A Spring-like Sunday

We went on our customary Sunday morning walk to the arboretum and were quite surprised to find the parking lot almost full and many, many more people than last week (much to our chagrin!). Many people were wearing masks. What I find interesting is that people will actually turn away from you as they walk by and not even acknowledge your presence. Maybe that's a good thing, but I hope that this won't become the norm - being afraid to look at someone else, even from a distance with a mask on. I make a point of being friendly - I know that people can tell I'm smiling, even behind the mask. Ok, that's my rant. 

The skies were really rather gloomy and, although no rain showed on the radar, a band of showers came through while we were walking and it was pretty damp. We stood under a huge beech tree, completely protected, and I took a lovely little video of the wet beech leaves, rain falling, lovely rainy sound. I wish I could share it with you!

But today's blip is a gorgeous rose taken just a few minutes ago in my garden, just as the sun peeked out from behind a big dark cloud. Doesn't it look like a butter sculpture? At least something positively deliciously edible. It's just glowing! This is a rose plant that a friend gave me from her garden when she moved to California a few years ago. Another lovely plant to remember friends by!

Hope you've all had a lovely weekend. Mine is not quite done - the group of people that I'm working with to build a botanical garden here in Portland with are actually meeting at our leader's garden nursery in a couple of hours. We'll sit outside and have a distance-meeting. We have a new website and logo and a new board member to introduce and well as a development director (fundraising). Did I tell you that I've managed to become the executive director? Funny the things we fall into :-)

Be safe and be well! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.