Day 55 Blue Flag Iris

A day of greater achievement that yesterday: I started some new exercises to strengthen the lower back and mobilise the hips and managed to plant up a number of the bedding plants, now that the night frosts are behind us.  I discovered that the honeysuckle has been almost overwhelmed by greenfly so I set about them with a spray of very diluted washing up liquid.  Unfortunately, in my enthusiasm, it wasn't until I heard a cry, that I realised I was also spraying my neighbours, who were sitting quietly enjoying ice creams, just the other side of the fence!  Good job I don't use chemicals!
I did get quite a few shots of busy bees working the honeybells and later a pair of visiting robins,taken through glass, but decided that the beautiful blue of the flag iris should take today's spot.
After yet another Thai curry (home made, prawn this week)  we settled down to an evening of Eurovision Song Contest viewing.  Of course the event itself is cancelled this year but we had three programmes in its stead: choose your favourite ever song (Abba, Waterloo won) then a chance to listen to the would be contestants, who frankly sounded much better for being in their own surroundings.  Finally we were taken through the A to Z of Eurovision, with a nice tribute to Terry Wogan.
Looking at what I've just written, I'm wondering just how mundane this journal can become!  I'm trying to convince myself that it will form part of a valuable record of these strange times!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.