These Boots Are Made For Walking

The weather has taken a turn for the worse here, so my wife has unveiled her purple fairy boots in order to collect the papers. This afternoon we're going to batten down the hatches and watch the 1944 film "Double Indemnity" with Fred MacMurray, Edward G Robinson and Barbara Stanwyck, nothing like a good old B&W classic on a rainy Sunday afternoon.

My album of the day is "City to City" from Gerry Rafferty. After spending time studying the iconic cover by fellow Paisley buddy, artist and playwright John Byrne, you can listen to a well written, well structured, well produced album. Rafferty was a huge talent but a reluctant star, this album is an underrated classic. Brought up in the same area but never saw him live, although I did attend his funeral at my local secondary school's cathedral.

On this day in 1974 I saw Steeleye Span with support act Gryphon, an evening of folk rock.

On their third of three nights, on this day in 1975 I saw Status Quo with support act The Pretty Things (see May 15th) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.