twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

I'd hoped to be out early but - that failed to materialise; oh well. So it was 0930 when I saddled up and set out. I knew it was going to be a slog into the wind and - yip - that's what happened! Once I hit the Kirkliston road it was pretty much a grind into the breeze for the next hour, but enjoyable enough, I guess. The rain never got going but never really stopped either; I guess there were droplets in the air for a lot of the time I was out. 

But - I managed to spend some time in a corner of Uphall I stumbled across the other day. It's a 60's / 70's housing scheme - rows of boxes at jaunty angles and odd little corners and spaces, populated by big stones and a mix of paving, gravel, grass and tarmac. A proliferation of kids slides and an amazing array of front gardens with nothing in them. Has Zen been added to the water supply here? Anyway I snaffled a few shots - I will be back - looks like a job for [Sub] Urban expert to accompany me on. I may stick them up as a series somewhere - I'll let any interested parties know if / when I deposit them somewhere.

Onwards to East Mains for some Billboard shots; and another tail wind assisted haul back into town. 

I met Tom on my return for his 10 miles - the usual Drylaw / Barnton / Cramond loop - started in rain, came back in sun.

I went home; showered, and off to drop essential supplies to Her; and home once more. An evening attending to laundry and creaking - 200km over the weekend. I'm out of practice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.