Oversized

But not so easy to lose under the settee.

Among some of the things I have been occupying myself with is making a few spinning tops. I wasn't sure how well the Laburnum ones would work as they have bark, sapwood and heartwood across them so there is a relatively fairly high weight difference from one side to the other. They seem to do okay though.

I have applied clear glue to the dragonfly 6 times. Every time it has been to the point of having a nice dome that followed the curve of the wood lid. Every time it has dried to a hollow. I have no idea why or where it goes because it certainly hasn't soaked into the wood. SO I have given up and it will just have to stay as it is.

I hate using Mahogany - it is a horrible dust and a nightmare to sand. Hopefully there is no more lying about needing used up.

SWMBO and I went for a walk after lunch and stopped off at Bags' to return the dishes that our banana bread cheesecake came in (it was lovely) and then carried on to look for the ducklings that are domiciled on the pond in the wood.
There was no sign of them.
There were some bluebells though - and the wild garlic is in full flower so it smells great.

One of our neighbours has a load of Welsh Poppies in her garden and I wanted to get a single bloom nice and sharp in a sea of out of focus orange. Unfortunately the breeze was turning the head away and to get one head on would have the brick wall right behind it. This is the closest I got. Hopefully there will be no breeze tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.