Brevity

It has been another busy day, but working in the Office and not at home. 

Tuesday is a day when the Boss has to be in Parliament, and the Manager is not 100% right now (not a virus), so I volunteered to go in to answer the phone. It gets me out of the house, and it means the Boss does not come back on Thursday to a whole bunch of messages on the answering machine. 

Task 1 on these occasions involves a lot of disinfectant.  

My main achievement was to write a reply to a constituent who sent in a 1.5 page email complaining about how he has not been able to visit his second home for over 2 months. He reckons second home owners should be top priority as the restrictions are lifted. 

My reply had to be diplomatic, but I wanted to find a subtle way of making him feel like a piece of dog's dirt. Decades of experience as a lawyer come in useful occasionally.  

He seems to think that if he spends a few £s in the local shop and pub where the second home is, spreading the virus to the locals would just be tough luck. I should ask him if he votes Tory...

I should add, we really do not care how our "customers" vote and prefer not to know. In fact the ones who announce they always vote SNP are the worst. It is as if they expect special treatment. We tend to assume they are lying. 

My evening has been quiet and relaxing. The highlight was my first strawberry of the summer - from the greenhouse, of course. Just delicious.

The Blip is the lilac bush I see from the dinner table. It is fantastic for a brief time. Dry weather makes it less brief, so fingers crossed. 

 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.