KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

On and off rain....

....very typical western Oregon weather. Cool-ish, unsettled weather - sunny one minute, showers the next. But it was a fairly pleasant day all told. Slipped in a game of golf with the girls, worked on a start-up budget for the botanical garden, and did a bit on my giant jigsaw puzzle.

I had no idea that it was so large (I didn't read the dimensions on the box!). It's a great photo of colorful hot air balloons and I thought how easy and fun it would be to work on. Until I discovered that it's 38" x 29" (2000 pieces!) and didn't fit on my table! I had to extend the table. Well, no matter, it will take a while which isn't a bad thing. The cat likes to sit on the table and watch....

I did get out to the garden first thing this morning - it was rather dark and dreary, but this sweet little Erodium chyrsanthum - Yellow Crane's Bill - is a favorite plant of mine. It's very carefree - just blooming now. Maybe 4-5" tall and about a foot or slightly more wide. Beautiful evergreen gray foliage - it likes great drainage, which it barely gets in my garden. Adds a lovely soft, gray touch to the front of the border. USDA zones 6-8. And I love those pink anthers! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.