Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The mystery of Gowk Bank

As you know I have been keeping quite near to home during the lockdown and most of my walks have been from home. I've taken the car for the occasional short run to keep the battery charged. Yesterday a warning light appeared for the particulate filter. 

Diesels cars are not good at doing short drives only and the particles build up. I had to take the car for a longer drive today to clear the problem

Well, that gave me the opportunity to go to Gowk Bank, the wonderful nature reserve near Gilsland. I was very excited because it is a wonderful place for wildflowers and particularly for orchids.

When I arrived, I was dismayed to see that nothing was more than 4 inches tall. Had the site been mowed I wondered? No, sheep were grazing. Stock are put on the site in the winter and taken out early on. This provides enough, but not too much, fertilizer for the delicate orchids and other wild flowers.

I was able to find valerian (pictured) and a few globe flowers. The latter were tiny and were near to the ground in their attempt to survive. 

I consulted my oracle, aka Harry, who used to work for Natural England, who used to manage this site. We agreed it seems odd that the sheep are in there and I've left a message with the appropriate authority. 

Watch this space.

I did hear a cuckoo there today. Gowk = cuckoo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.