Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A scorching summer's day

It's still only May, but it was like the height of summer in Tynedale today.

I walked after an early lunch and wished I had gone much earlier in the day. My circular route started through Crow Wood, very near to the house we rented in Allerwash. The garlic is going over there, but the beck is full of insect and fish life. New ripples were starting all the time. 

I rarely make abstract images but I like this. (I have even desaturated it a bit because it was so brightly coloured!)

I walked along by the river South Tyne from Newbrough to Fourstones and beyond.

The hawthorn trees are now dripping with swathes of white flowers, some of which reach the ground. The gorse is bright yellow in the sun. The river was blue. Families were enjoying paddling and sunbathing. It was quite incongruous when we have a pandemic to face. One family had travelled from East Boldon (near Sunderland) to picnic near the river.

After I walked along the river path I was due to climb Warden Hill but I turned around and retraced my steps. At least there was some shade!

Life in the Time of Covid 19
Two of the people I met today, both walking alone, are having a hard time coping with the lockdown. We chatted and I can only hope that some human contact helps. It made me realise just how hard the situation is for many.

I drove a short distance today and the car tells me that there is a particulate filter warning. Sigh. It's not been driven enough in recent weeks. Hopefully I can sort it tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.