Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

I found a new path

Today started grey, cold and wet. Daisy was in and out through the catflap, bringing her happy wetness to us and disregarding our reaction to muddy paws!

The rain was much needed and did not last long enough.

Mum and I had started our day very early. Mum was awake for a couple of hours before she called me at 3 because of pains in one leg. Paracetamol, tea and reassurance were administered. We both managed some more sleep, but woke a bit late and a bit groggy!!

My walk was down to the river at  Chollerford. I usually walk along the bank and return the same way. Another walker told me about birds in a nest "under the tunnel", so I deviated my route to go near the old railway bridge. No sign of the birds, but I saw a well trodden path and followed it.

This is what I saw. It was breathtaking.

I suspect this was not a public right of way, but it is walked. 

Back home I managed to put our meal (cod, mash, green beans and cauli in white sauce) out in time to log in to a Zoom meeting at the RPS. Cocoa Laney is a young American photographer who had a bursary from the RPS last year. She was talking about the project she did for her MA on women growing up in the deep south (as she did) and coping with their experiences of womanhood and shame. Religion featured strongly.

Cocoa was full of breathless enthusiasm and made me feel 100! I thought the images were good and I wanted to know more about the content of the project. Each woman wrote a letter to the next one (as an anonymous stranger) and some of these are included in the body of work.

Here is a link to her website. Her work mainly concentrates on gender and identity. Her current work is to photograph people through their windows during the lockdown.

Mum and I watched yesterday's episode of Grayson Perry's Art Club. He was looking through windows too, but outwards. I love listening to him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.