KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Another Blustery Spring Day

It was a great day to work at home, which I did. I'm trying to get my head around how to teach my summer Plant ID class (at our local community college) remotely. Fortunately two other instructors are teaching plant ID classes remotely this spring term and have given me access to their classes so I can learn from them. It feels like a rather large learning curve!

But I did get out in the garden this morning with the camera while it was still wet and drippy. I have a couple of beautiful clumps of Iris pallida 'Variegata' - a gorgeous variegated bearded iris. The leaves are gray-green variegated with stripes of creamy yellow. The foliage alone is well worth planting this iris! It's just coming into bloom now - obviously with purple flowers, but the variegation seems to come through at the base of the flower as well...can you see that lovely green stripe? I haven't had these bloom before since I planted them last year.

It's common name is 'Dalmation Iris' since it is native to Dalmatia, a province of Croatia. It's also native to the southern Alps. I didn't know this, but this plant is a source of "orris" which is an essential oil extracted from the rhizomes. It's used as a preservative in perfumes, breath fresheners and spirits. Sometimes know as 'Sweet Iris' or 'Orris Root'. 

If you'd like more detailed information, the Missouri Botanical Garden (which has a terrific "Plant Finder") has great information here:
Iris pallida 'Variegata'

Thank you so much for your lovely comments and stars on yesterday's Bachelor Button and bee! 

Be well and stay safe!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.