Slow and Steady

The snails and slugs don’t know about lockdown and were out in their hundreds after a night of rain but mostly recognising the 2metre separation. I don’t mind snails now that I don’t have a garden for them to ravage and I find their slow determination to get from a-b admirable.
I don’t even mind the hundreds of rabbits now domiciled in the grounds here and the fact that they foolishly think there is anywhere for them to burrow given the nature of the terrain. Because they seem to be living under decking and through vents under houses, the powers that be are intending to bring in ferrets to flush them out. I don’t know where the ferrets are going to live............ The completely inappropriate phrase ‘cat amongst the pigeons’ springs to mind.

It is a truism that what one has to do fills the time available. I am trying hard to think what took up my time today. A shopping trip and a making of a pan of soup hardly seem to account for the 10 hours so far at my disposal. There must have been too much time reading the paper and staring into space. Oh I remember I had a walk in the wind round the Meadows.

The highlight of the day will surely be a Zoom cocktail meeting with BarrioBoy and Digitaldaze in half an hour. I have my Ribena and gin drink at the ready.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.