Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Lockdown Day 58 - Foxglove

The rusty looking thing behind this foxglove is an old wheelbarrow that sits in front of my house and gets planted up with flowers (eventually). Right now it’s empty.

WEEKS ago I noticed some green leaves growing DOWN from the bottom of the wheelbarrow. Because I am a lazy gardener, they got ignored and left. I was also a little curious about what was growing and that it was growing down from a hole in the wheelbarrow. In the last couple of weeks it started to turn up towards the sun and I kept watching it. Finally it revealed itself! And this is it! A foxglove! How in the world did THAT happen? If a bird dropped the seed why didn’t it grow UP from the soil in the wheelbarrow?

It matters not. I’m keeping it! Some unexpected beauty in these very confusing and sad days. Hopefully soon it will be joined by some other flowers!

No bike ride today - I’ve hurt my elbow! No, I didn’t fall off. I’ve developed a very sore tennis elbow! The second bike ride of the day last night was the final straw. It’s from gripping the handlebars. The frozen peas came out today. I’ll rest for a few days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.