Portrait of an Iris

Never do I recall before staying in bed all morning to finish a novel but Montalbano is engrossing. I'm glad I bought the series and ordered them before starting reading. Each book refers back to characters and episodes in previous ones. 

Len made me a delicious bacon and tomato omelette for breakfast which I ate in bed. Thus no reason to get up.

Basil was getting fed up and wanting his walk. We did one of our regular round the block tours which takes us across two grassy stretches and down Coach Road.

As soon as I got in, it was time for a Zoom presentation sponsored by the DiG and Documentary groups. Chloe Dewe Matthews talked about two of her projects: Caspian and Shot at Dawn. Good to see some coverage of Kazakhstan. I've ordered Caspian. Len will appreciate it too.

I received the Guide by William Eggleston yesterday, which is primarily a study of the area in which he grew up. The first thing that struck me was the technical excellence of the printing. I could understand how Eggleston  was fascinated by colour. Whole blocks of it in many of his photos. The humans in the shots were almost incidental. The other thing that I observed was how empty the photos were. Despair and desolation.

Well, he hasn't succumbed to it. At the age of 80 he's still with us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.