Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

What a wild day again

I was disappointed that the winds were still over 40 mph this morning. I'd hoped to walk. It was raining heavily on and off too, so it was not inviting.

I enjoyed listening to Stephen Fry on Troy. This was a Hay Festival talk I missed last night. The talks are online for 24 hours after the event. I could have listened for twice as long. He made all the stories come alive in his own unique way. (Mum has watched this afternoon and loved it too.)

So today I've listened to Maggie O'Farrell on Hamnet. That was good. Sally Davies spoke on The Drugs Don't Work. I didn't hear anything new and was not over impressed. Then Jon Sopel interviewed by Guro Hari. His book is entitled A Year at the Circus: Inside Trump's White House. I would be really interested in what my American friends make of his views. Jon is a well respected BBC reporter and he has been in Washington for some time now. His views on Donald Trump were interesting.

I went for a very short walk, just to Haughton Mains Farm and back. It was very windy and I realised that if I gained any height I might take off!  This sycamore tree is one of several mature trees near our village. There appeared to be no chance it would come to harm. The buttercups have suddenly come to life and are flowering in carpets through the fields.

Life in the Time of Covid 19
I have hardly seen the news today, but await the outcome of Dominic Cummings' little trip to Durham with interest. I can see the reason that he went. He and his wife were ill and they have a child who needed care. I suspect that more will come out in the wash, not least her broadcast on BBC shortly after she recovered. I heard her talk about how he rushed to her side. She omitted to say that he bundled her into the car and drove north!

I think he should resign!

Very sadly the hotel on the edge of our village is staying closed. Shearings has gone bust and the employees are losing their jobs. Some will lose their homes too. 

PS I have started a sentence with "So". Shock horror. I have been infected by this sloppy way of speaking. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.