Stitch in time!

A successful trip to town this morning to collect grocery and green grocery supplies. Our green grocer has been amazing all through the lockdown. It has been fully stocked for shoppers and they have been delivering to the elderly and the vulnerable and all with a friendly smile and pleasantries. 
I also visited the wonderful old fashioned hardware store which has also remained open and as usual were most helpful and cheery people. Today 'Mr Hardware' was kind enough to carry a large bag of compost to my car, without being asked. It's a great shop for browsing in normal times but not allowed just now. I look forward to being able to do that again, you can always find what you want and a whole lot more besides!
This afternoon was spent stitching the netting skirt to the fruit cage. It's only half finished as I had problems reaching and had to balance on a bench for some of it. Hopefully it will be completed tomorrow as I don't want the birds, however much I love them, eating the fruit before I get to it. There appears to be quite a lot of fruits so far. Redcurrant bush in the photo but there are gooseberry and  worcesterberry and others which didn't have labels; I think they are more gooseberry but time will tell. The green grocer had a raspberry bush for sale today so I shall be planting that tomorrow too.
All in all a rewarding day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.