Kennick Rhododendrons

I went out on my ride a bit earlier today. I set off through Humber and got stuck in the traffic jam that you can see in the photo I've added as an extra.
Having got through that I carried on into Kingsteignton and passed New Bridge where I blipped yesterday then on up the hill into Dartmoor National Park. I arrived at Hennock and continued up the steepest part of the ride to the reservoirs.

The rhododendrons were looking great near Trenchford reservoir so I was hopeful they'd be out where I was headed. I carried on past Tottiford reservoir and reached the more distant Kennick reservoir.

Yes, finally I've managed to get the Rhodedendrons in bloom on the far bank from the Angler's Lodge. I've tried to get the timing right for quite a few years now since I first saw the scene photographed by an erstwhile blipper, whose name I forget. 

I'd been watching the power meter and having got to Kennick it said just above 50% remaining. I returned more or less the same way and got home having completed almost thirty miles with 20% remaining. This was a much more hilly than average ride so I'm feeling reasonably confident about doing more long rides.

Wide Wednesday Results
Once again these have been picked purely on the basis of which images appealed to me in some way. Not all were on theme but many of you have interpreted the theme in interesting ways. Well done to you all.

My hearts this week go to the following:

carolinav for a delightfully Distorted Palm Tree
Puffin for the view down to The New Church
RSDPhotography for an excellent aerial shot
ninniex for some Dangerous Steps
Jorgiesmum for a view down to her village 

My Honourable Mentions this week got to:

Freyjad  Looking down the steps
Energia for a new technique
AnnieBelle who is (or maybe her model is) actually Looking down
Incredibish for a triumph 
Trisharooni A dramatic look down to the cove

Thank you all for your entries to keep this one of the best challenges (in my view).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.