Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Are you mocking me???

This is the second winter that I've had a mockingbird in residence. Unlike some mockers, this one is quite well-behaved, waits his/her turn at the bistro and doesn't try to hog the feeders. I don't see him every day so when he shows up, I always stop what I am doing to watch him for a while - they are elegant birds, don't you think?

We are having high gusty winds today, so the Mocker is looking just a bit disheveled here - feathers ruffled. In addition to the mocker, I also saw a yellow-rumped warbler come around to check out the suet. That was a big surprise and I wish I'd gotten a decent shot of him. This is the only warbler (also sometimes called butter-butts or myrtle warblers) that sometimes overwinters in NJ, but it is not a common sight at feeders since they don't eat seeds. Hoping I'll see it again when I am better prepared.

Still drugged to the gills so not feeling very chipper or clever. In fact, feeling distinctly un-chipper and un-clever. However, all the drugs keep the pain at bay and that is a good thing.

Thanks for the comments on Stinky yesterday. Seems like just about every part of the world has some variety of stink bug - and not all as dull and ordinary as my offering yesterday. I've seen some here on blip that were bright green, red, and other vivid colors. They can really be quite beautiful, in their stinky way! :)

Today's shot is through the window using a monopod since I can't hold that much weight right now. I'm getting lots of practice with the 'pod and am really liking it.

I'll try to check back later - and forgive my lack of commenting right now. I can't sit for long so mostly I am just having a quick look at blips on my ipone. Not ideal for commenting but I can leave stars...

Happy Friday, Blippers!

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.