Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Code RED!

One of my favorite little backyard birds, the Downy Woodpecker (picoides pubescens). They are very tolerant of humans and can be hand fed with a little patience. They are usually very well behaved at the feeders. I have at least 5 downies who are frequenting my suet feeders this winter, and it is not uncommon to see two of them feeding on opposite sides of the suet cage. They are approximately 6 inches (15 cm) in length and are our smallest woodpeckers.

I didn't have a lot of stamina for camera time today, so when I got this shot, I decided to call it a day. Actually, I've been trying to get a shot of one of the male downies with his crest raised for some time now, and this shot shows it very well. They don't have big crests like the the jays or titmice, so it is more that they just make the feathers on their head stand up - it always looks funny to me. They only do this when they are alarmed or when they are showing aggression to another male Downy.

Thank you all so much for the hearts and stars on yesterday's Mockingbird - I wasn't expecting such a response! I also didn't consider that the mockingbird is a North American species and isn't usually seen elsewhere in the world. For that reason, I will blip the mocker again soon, in a pose that will show you how elegant a bird he/she truly is. The mocker was back today, after some suet crumbles that I'd put out.

Expecting some snow tonight so maybe there will be wintery snow-blip tomorrow. Depends on how I'm feeling. The neck is still quite painful and I am still on meds. Will probably continue this regimen until Wednesday's MRI - at which time I will hopefully find out exactly what is causing the pain. In the meantime, no snow shoveling for me - and no Big Daddy without the monopod! The silver lining of this whole neck/back thing has been that I've finally been forced to use the 'pod ... and I am liking it!

My commenting will be hit and miss for the next few days - I can't stay seated for more than about 20 minutes at a stretch before my neck becomes too painful. So, I'm confined to iPhone mostly.

Have a Happy Saturday, blippers!

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.